4.5 Crowns · Historical Fiction · Historical Fiction - 18th Century · Home · Royal Reviews

In Sororal Love: Sally Christie’s “The Sisters of Versailles”

the-sisters-of-versailles-9781501102967_hr

Title: The Sisters of Versailles

Author: Sally Christie

Publisher: Atria Books

Copyright: September, 2015

ISBN-10: 1501102966

ISBN-13: 978-1501102967

Format: Paperback, 432 Pages, $14.34 [Amazon Paperback], $9.99 [Kindle], $26.95 [Audible], $14.65 [Barnes & Noble Paperback], $9.99 [Nook], $9.99 [Google Play], $9.99 [iBooks]

Summary:

Goodness, but sisters are a thing to fear.

Court intriguers are beginning to sense that young King Louis XV, after seven years of marriage, is tiring of his Polish wife. The race is on to find a mistress for the royal bed as various factions put their best feet—and women—forward. The King’s scheming ministers push sweet, naïve Louise, the eldest of the aristocratic Nesle sisters, into the arms of the King. Over the following decade, she and three of her younger sisters—ambitious Pauline; complacent Diane, and cunning Marie Anne—will conspire, betray, suffer, and triumph in a desperate fight for both love and power as each becomes the king’s favorite for a time.

In the tradition of The Other Boleyn Girl, The Sisters of Versailles is a clever, intelligent, and absorbing novel that historical fiction fans will devour. Based on meticulous research on a group of women never before written about in English, Sally Christie’s stunning debut is a complex exploration of power and sisterhood—of the admiration, competition, and even hatred that can coexist within a family when the stakes are high enough.

Warning:

wbvN81471742965

Review:

portrait_of_a_lady2c_said_to_be_louise_julie_de_nesle2c_comtesse_de_mailly_by_alexis_grimou
Louise Julie de Mailly-Nesle

The five de Mailly-Nesle sisters live in the paradisiacal Quai des Théatins with their parents, the Marquis and Marquise de Nesle et de Mailly. As the five sisters: Louise, Pauline, Diane, Hortense, and Marie-Anne come to grips with growing up and leaving their nursery at the Quai des Théatins, each starts out on her own adventure. Louise, the eldest de Mailly-Nesle sister gets married early on in the story and finds herself trapped in nothing short of a loveless marriage. With an inattentive husband, her inability to produce children, a vulture of a mother-in-law, and the oppressiveness of life at Versailles, Louise has a great burden upon her shoulders. While there, the sweet and sanguine Louise tends to the King Louis XV’s Polish consort, Queen Marie Leszczyńska.

pauline_fc3a9licitc3a9_de_mailly-nesle
Pauline de Mailly-Nesle

When tragedy befalls the de Mailly-Nesle family, the four younger sisters are split apart from each other. Pauline and Diane are immediately sent off to a convent whereas Hortense and Marie-Anne are taken in by their curmudgeon Tante Mazarin. This is where each sister starts to really gain a sense of self. Pauline is far from happy being locked away in a convent and writes incessantly to Louise in order to convince her to invite her to Versailles. Diane, on the other hand, is halfway to becoming a nun and seems oddly at peace living life in a convent. As close as the two sisters are, they are like night and day. Pauline is of a jealous predisposition and was known for being something of a bully while all sisters were in the nursery. She has not approved with age. On top of it, Pauline is known as being the most repulsive of the sisters, with her swarthy complexion and such large eyebrows. Diane is a silly airhead of a girl, finding great joy in the simple things of life and always talking of food. While not considered as unattractive as her sister Pauline, Diane is known to be rather plump and she is also as sweet as their sister Louise.

diane_adc3a9lac3afde_de_mailly-nesle
Diane de Mailly-Nesle

Hortense and Marie-Anne, who live with their Tante Mazarin, have something of a similar experience. Hortense is perhaps the most pious as well as the loveliest of all of the de Mailly-Nesle sisters. She is the one who is most influenced by Tante Mazarin. Marie-Anne, on the other hand, is an independent young woman with a mind of her own and, on top of that, she is immensely ambitious. In time, the sisters have news of the fact that their eldest sister, Louise has officially become the mistress of King Louis. When Tante Mazarin hears of this, she urges her nieces to stay far away from their “harlot” of a sister. Unceasingly, she hopes to engender in them, a desire for piety and virtue. It seems that the only one to benefit from Tante’s lessons is Hortense.

marie-anne_de_mailly-nesle
Marie-Anne de Mailly-Nesle

In time, all sisters (although each on a different journey) end up at Versailles in one instance or another. Each sister is vastly different and each one of them has a varied experience with the king himself. Little does each sister know that they are at war with each other, Versailles is their battlefield, and the King is the ultimate prize. Who will win?

Ms. Christie’s novel The Sisters of Versailles was a delightful treat from start to finish. I found all of the sisters to be intriguing characters, despite the fact that I liked some and completely disliked the others. In terms of who my favorite was, that would be Hortense. Albeit she was never a mistress of King Louis, there was something about her that was all the more wiser, as opposed to her love-struck sisters (who were sometimes cast aside). It was enjoyable seeing how the sisters interacted with each other as well as the personalities that were so unique to each character. What had me giggling at times were the letters from Pauline to Louise (when she was attempting to convince her to invite her to Versailles) where she acted sisterly or “sororal” but it was apparent she was buttering her up.

The writing quality was fantastic and it was apparent that the author really did a great deal of research when it came to the five sisters. This book is definitely one that I fervently recommend. It made me laugh, suffused me with joy, and made me cry in equal measure.

Rating:

2

One thought on “In Sororal Love: Sally Christie’s “The Sisters of Versailles”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s